Do Not Go Gentle

I watched one of my favorite movies tonight, Interstellar. It’s wonderful and if you haven’t taken time to watch it, you should take an evening and let the movie boggle your mind. What I think really gets me is the possibility that something similar to the story line could actually be possible. Everyone says it’s fictional but think about it, a thousand years ago no one would have imagined that we would possess the technology to visually see another person on the other side of the globe at virtually the same time. It’s baffling.

As much as I love the movie, there is a quote in there, mentioned 3 or 4 times that I love. Here it is:

“Do not go gentle into that good night; Old age should burn and rave at close of day. Rage, rage against the dying of the light.”

I really love that first part. It can be taken either literally day by day, or over a span of time.

I’m all for gentleness and stuff, but when there is a time to go down in a blaze then I believe you set that fire as high as you can.

For instance, high school ends for me tomorrow. It’s not an event I’m about to let die without a fire. There’s no way I could sum up 4 years of adventures, growth, friendships, and challenges with a blown kiss goodbye. Oh no. I’ll let you know about graduation celebrations tomorrow.

My interpretation of gentle in this context is succumbing to the inevitable. Don’t ever give in to something because you feel obliged to. Fight it until there is no strength left.

If you are going to choose the inevitable it will no longer feel like a burden to do so. That’s when you know you’ve made the right choice.

Do not give into the night that surrounds you. Fight the oppression that will never stop. Don’t fight the whole battle by yourself.

Leave a Reply

