Self-Taught Paper Weaving

BalloonI get to work weekends at my job, and it’s not too bad. It’s about 13 hours total of me sitting at a desk taking calls from CTU online. But I can do crafts and stuff. So this weekend I decided to learn how to make a paper hot air balloon. My inspiration was this pretty piece from Pinterest:

It’s adorable. So I got the template from Paper Matrix, and I took it work. I got here with my exact-o knife and it took me an hour alone to cut out 2 of the shapes. It looked like an octopus. anyway. So as soon as I got the two piece cut out, I realized “I have no idea what I’m doing.”

wpid-20150719_142627.jpgSo what do you do when you don’t know how to do something? Naturally, you YouTube it. So I learned first off that the first step to this is making the two octopi look like this. Ta-Da!

For some reason I thought the rest of the project would be easy, and I also should hwpid-20150719_150524.jpgave know that the pattern is weaved AND spherical. Needless to say it was not easy. and I got really frustrated after about an hour of trying to make the whole thing come together all at once. Guess what you need? You need more hands. Or. Paperclips. Those will work too. Probably better.

So I pulled out my paperclips and I figured out how to make things work. And here is what it looked like after using a little bit of help.

See, it’s coming together. But honestly, if you’re going to try and learn weaving, watch a video before it. You’re not going to get it right without knowing how to do it the way you want to. Or you can, but it’s frustrating.

So, after 4 hours of paper cuts, shaky fingers, and random sudoku distractions, i finally got my “end” result. It’s not perfect, not at all, but I think it’s pretty cute πŸ™‚

wpid-20150720_062729.jpg

Leave a Reply

