“Superman Got Nothing”

I’ve heard the song One Call Away by Charlie Puth on the radio multiple times and the first time I heard it I was actually annoyed. After a couple more times I’ve eased up on it, but there are still some aspects of the song that really aggravate me.

The line I’ll be there to save the day, does he assume that whatever issue his woman is facing he can save her from it? Why can’t she save herself? Why can’t he support her instead of solving all her problems?

I like this line: Call me, baby, if you need a friend that shows that even if they’re together in a loving relationship she can call on him as a friend. I think that’s really cute and something a lot of relationships lose. I love the idea of being best friends like that.

BUT

He follows up with this: “I just wanna give you love” and I sat there and said “NO. Why would you do that? Why can’t you be friends and not try to be all macho for 10 seconds?” If I’m getting the right vibe from the song, then Charlie wants to prove that he can be everything his woman needs. That’s not exactly what a friend is. A friend does what they can and then helps their friend find whatever else they may be missing.
I’m just going to keep ranting… Come along with me and don’t be scared
I just wanna set you free No dude. Seriously she should be strong enough to have her own path and if you want to keep up with her you’ve got to adjust your life style. You can’t expect her to jump ship on her life to join yours.

Maddism #20: Interpret songs your own way. Hate them, love them, whatever. But have a personal experience with it.

On the other hand, this song, Ain’t No Man – The Avett Brothers. I love this. I got to hear this played for the first time at the McDowell Mountain Music Festival this March (and you can watch that performance here

Maddism #21: The Avett Brothers are fantastic.

Anyway, I am a big fan of the Avett Brothers but this song has some really phenomenal elements. I love the bass line ostinato, and the lyrics are powerful. I’ll try to only really share my favorites.

Can this first stanza just be my anthem?

Ain’t no man that can save me
There ain’t no man that can enslave me
Ain’t no man or men that can change the shape my soul is in
There ain’t nobody here
Who can cause me pain or raise my fear cause I got only love to share
If you’re looking for truth I’m proof you’ll find it there

It absolutely fits my personality. I don’t let people save me often, and I tend not to get enslaved by things, I will become dedicated or devoted, but never enslaved. This whole past year has been a focus on the shape of my soul, and I’ve come to realize I’m really the only person that can change the condition of my soul (I’m not saying people don’t inspire change and help). The phrase “I got only love to share” has so much truth to me. I feel like I’ve got so much emotional caring to give to people and I have to spend it or it stays bottled up and tense.

If you matters to you, ma, it matters to me
I’m gonna fall hard, yeah I know I am

I think this is what friendship should be. It’s not about proving to your friend of your partner that you’re everything they need. But instead that you show interest in what they love and you want them to enjoy doing it, with or without you.

One more line I’m just going to let you think about:
I say you’re whatever you think you are

That’s what I think the difference in love. There are kinds where you want to prove to people that you’re everything they need and they couldn’t possibly want more. And that’s not always bad, but I think it’s got to be a stepping stone onto something else. Being in a relationship or a friendship is a process of learning to love each other, spending lots of time together and then understanding that you live two different lives that you make work together because you care.

Maddism #22: The best relationships are the ones filled with inside jokes, random attachments on Facebook, picking up and mimicking each others actions, and spending quality time with each other.

Lyric Source:www.directlyrics.com

Leave a Reply

