Pay Attention

This morning I was handed the opinion that most people are kind of jerks. My initial thought was “No, no, no. Most people are nice“. Well, that’s not the case. Most people are jerks. It turns out most people won’t hesitate to make fun of you behind your back, or continue to judge you for mistakes you’ve made.

I wanted to think most people are nice because the people I surround myself with pretty much have to be somewhat overall decent. When someone becomes less than that, they dissappear from my life. So most everyone I talk to on a normal basis is generally “kind”. (I was also raised very religious, and those types of people are some of the kindest people I’ve ever met.)

I do have promote the idea of if the world is filled with so many unkind people, what a wonderful opportunity for you to kind. And the best part? It doesn’t have to be excessive kindness.

I’m going to throw out what I think is the easiest way for one to be kind.

Pay attention to people. Attention is one of the few things we can freely give to people, so use it. Attention and time are two things that can be given and taken, and you can’t get it back once it’s gone. So choose to pay attention to the little things people do. Generally people’s actions fall into a few categories: Habit, Ignorance, or Purpose. See if you can figure out someone’s reason for action and then the deeper meaning behind it.

Don’t just pay attention to their actions though. Pay attention and react. Show someone you care.

The world really is filled with people that will take advantage of you, but if you’re the one that is kind, and caring I’d be willing to bet you’d see a different side of people that the unkind crowd doesn’t get to see. And let me tell you, it’s a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

