Ballads

My life revolves around music right now, and I’ve noticed quite a bit about it recently and people’s trends towards certain genres. Given that there are many mixed genres and it’s become extremely difficult to categorize a vast amount of the music available today, I was thinking about ballads and how important they are to individuals. At least to me.

Everyone seems to have certain pieces of music they strongly identify with, even if the logic in it doesn’t seem to exist in any way. A couple of songs I’ve found for myself are:

Snowmine – Let Me In
The Avett Brothers – February Seven
Beethoven – 7th Symphony 2nd Movement
Alt J – Taro
Cigarettes After Sex – Nothing’s Gonna Hurt You Baby
Jack Johnson – Do You Remember

The majority of these are ballads. Nothing too crazy -don’t get me wrong I do love my hype music when the time is appropriate, but on a normal basis I enjoy listening to music that makes me feel something. These songs do that and for some of them I can’t explain why, but for other’s it’s fairly obvious.

Let’s take the Jack Johnson song, one line in the song says “Do you remember when we first moved in together, the piano took up the living room?” I just loved this because I saw myself doing that. I imagine that someday I’ll move in with someone and not have enough space for the grand piano I’m dying to own one day. It makes me smile every time I hear the song, and it’s sweetened the whole song.

Let Me In by Snowmine, on the other hand, I can’t pinpoint why I enjoy the song so much but it’s there, I tend to get goosebumps when listening to it, and I really have no idea why.

I can’t quite decide why I like ballads more, but maybe it’s a reflection on my personality. I enjoy understand people and having meaningful conversations. I like to know people better, I like to feel and express. Listening to this kind of music relieves that need to be expressive sometimes.

It also made me wonder about how others are expressive and how it interacts with how I am. There are certain things about people that I can understand without having to process anything, but there are other actions that people make that I can’t comprehend without thorough thinking.

The other day I was talking with a lady about recent trips we had both been on, and she was extremely polite in insisted on knowing everything about my trip before telling about hers. I immediately knew that in order to get her to speak more about her trip I’d have to disconnect myself with the experience and try and understand her experience. Once I was able to crack into her thought process, it was awesome to see how expressive and excited she was about her trip.

People feel things differently. People feel obliged to do different things, for different people, at different times. Some people feel the need to be affectionate and to show it, others feel the need to be true to their own expression in disregarding the comfort of others. Sometimes this works, and sometimes it doesn’t.

So if there’s one thing I’ve learned from observing the expressions of others it’s that you should never hide your expressive behavior but you should also consider and nature and comfort of who you’re expressing to. Given an uncertain situation, think ahead about what the outcomes might be, and ask yourself what you are, and aren’t okay with receiving and from there determine whether or not now is the right time.

Leave a Reply

