How to Run 2 Miles

 

I don’t run. As an excuse, I’ve got bad hips and the impact typically jars them enough for it to painful. So, I don’t run. But I wanted to.

I’ve always seen pictures of my friends running marathons and participating in running events and I always thought I’d never be able to do that. I was looking at a bulletin board the other day garnished with a good amount of runner’s numbers and again the thought of, “I’d never be able to do that” popped back into my head. Lucky for me, I get kind of arrogant when people tell me I can’t do something, even if it’s myself saying it.

So I’ve been going the gym. The Summer Swolstice is coming. Don’t you worry.

I started with the elliptical, I was getting better hitting about 3 miles in 20 minutes and getting pretty tired.But my endurance was building. I wasn’t thinking originally how difficult it is to change from elliptical to the treadmill. Oh. My.

After finishing my routine 3 mile elliptical, I tried the treadmill and got .31 miles before my sides hurt too much.

I attempted the treadmill again a couple days ago, and pumped out 2 individual miles  at different times. I was quite proud actually, I ran them straight without needed to slow down.

Today, I ran 2.5 miles and didn’t go any slower than 5.5 mph. And that’s pretty decent for me. My entire body is screaming at me, but my ambition is happy.

You just don’t give up. You don’t allow yourself to stop. Breathe deep, concentrate and keep going.

 

Sometimes, ambition is a great thing. It’s a good thing to want to accomplish a goal. It’s an even better thing to go out and do it. Doing something in spite of someone else isn’t smart, but doing something to prove to yourself that you are capable and it fulfills a part of your desire is okay. You’ve just got to find your team that will support you in whatever it is that you choose to do.

 

Speaking of which, anyone want to be on my team for running?

One thought on “How to Run 2 Miles

Leave a Reply

