Hand Them the Truth

I got a motorcycle a few months ago and was terrified of telling my parents in fear of how they might react. My mom’s father died in a motorcycle accident, and the last thing I wanted to do was upset her. So I didn’t tell them for months. A few weeks ago my truck broken down and needed to be repaired so I was riding around on my bike daily. I finally fessed up and told my dad.

I arrived at his work place with lunch. When he finally asked how I’d gotten to him, I told him about the motorcycle. He didn’t seem surprised and took a moment to process it but as I was leaving he was really interested in my bike and watching me take off on it.

I had to tell me mom. I put it off for a few weeks until I just showed up at my parents house on my bike on Sunday evening (a weekly ritual) with all my gear on me. She was shocked when I flat out told her and asked me who let me borrow a motorcycle. After realizing I really did own the vehicle, she gave in and said “well alright, let’s go see it”. So she came outside to see my motorcycle and didn’t say anything else that night.

I didn’t bring it back for a while, and I didn’t say anything about it. Eventually one night I really wanted to go home, and I only had my bike. So I went and played it off like it was nothing. And it was. I know my mom was a little shocked that I had a bike but more than anything she was annoyed that I didn’t tell her sooner.

Yesterday, I woke up, wanted to celebrate getting a new job and having a successful week so I called her to see if she wanted to go pottery painting. She said she’d meet me at the place.

2 hours later, she, my sister and I were painting away. I had all my motorcycle gear on me and it didn’t seem to bother her. She let me put my gear in her car when we went to get lunch and asked about what all the gear was like. She took interest in my excellent motorcycle related Goodwill find this week.

My point is, I was terrified of telling my mom what I was riding around on, but actually she had a fantastic reaction and let me make my own choices. I love my mom so much, she is the most incredible, self reliant, smart, witty person I know, and I really should learn to trust her with the truth. She of all people can handle that ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

